My editor has pointed out that all four of my novels are about outsiders, and yet only two of them are officially part of my Outsiders mystery series. My latest book, Inherit the Past, isn’t part of the series because while it’s a mystery, too, it involves time travel and it’s set in Germany. That doesn’t fit in with the Outsiders series at all.

Front Cover Digital

In the shadows

Final Front Cover DIGITAL

Front Cover DIGITAL

My first two novels, In the Shadows and Where Secrets Reside, are set in a small French village and are the first books in my Outsiders Mystery Series. My third book, Liars’ Games: A Project Chameleon Novel, has a protagonist who is definitely an outsider–actually more so than the characters in my Outsiders series, which makes me think it could possibly become part of the Outsiders series. The main reason I haven’t done it yet is that Liars’ Games and its sequel, The Secret Town, are set in the U.S. The Secret Town is in the works but not finished yet.

But here’s where it gets tricky: My next book, Winter Tears, which will be released in early summer, is the third book in the Outsiders series and it also temporarily links Liars’ Games to that series, because the main characters from Liars’ Games will move to that small French village, Reynier and will interact with the characters from In the Shadows and Where Secrets Reside. I have to admit that I had fun bringing all these characters together!

Although each of my novels can be read as stand-alone books, I think readers would get more out of them if they read them all. For that reason, I have lowered the price on Liars’ Games to encourage people to buy it and give it a try.

Here’s what Liars’ Games is about:

Dr Juliet Powell, a genius math professor, is not a failure. She excels at most everything, but entering witness protection becomes her greatest challenge yet and may be her downfall. At first, the thought of becoming a new person and losing the stigma attached to being a child-prodigy seems a godsend. At last she can be seen as normal—like everyone else. But as the reality of her situation sinks in, she struggles with the lies and secrecy. She tells herself she will eventually adapt to her new life, but with each new identity comes more stories and more chances of getting them entangled. She’s getting further and further away from who she really is. When she blows her cover yet again, her handler, Brad Meyers, warns her this is her last chance. She needs to blend in like a chameleon and play the game, but how can someone who has always believed in honesty suddenly become a convincing liar?

Compounding her problem with this new move, a political maneuver not of her choice and not within the usual rules of witness protection, ensconces her in the role of principal at a Denver high school full of gangs, drug dealers, and disgruntled employees. And then, when she discovers that a stranger is watching her and her young son, and her handler can’t or won’t move her, she must decide whether to run away and take her chances, or stay and fight to make the school safer. It’s a book that on the surface deals with school violence and fear, but at the heart of it is a woman’s struggle with lying and deception, trust, self-identity, and the moral decline of society.