Most of you probably know by now that I like caves. I’ve explored many caves all around the U.S. with my family. I’ve even used caves in my novel settings (In the Shadows, Where Secrets Reside, and Inherit the Past). I don’t really know what makes me like them so much. The first cave I ever visited was Carlsbad Caverns in New Mexico. I was probably in third or fourth grade, and I was in awe. I even dreamed about those caverns. I have to admit they scared me a little, especially since we had to take an elevator down.

Since then, I’ve explored caves–usually as part of a tour–in Missouri, South Dakota, Kentucky, Minnesota, Colorado, Wisconsin, and many other states. I haven’t explored any in other countries, yet. Maybe someday. I got to explore a couple of small caves without a tour, too. One was right here in Columbia, Missouri–the Ice Box Cave in Rock Bridge State Park.

I thought I would share some of my photos of various caves with you. I hope you enjoy them.

DSC01063

DSC01058

DSC01049

DSC01037

DSC00833

DSC00806

DSC00372

DSC00365

DSC00334

076

035

009

DSC06358

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

